Solidarity convention with Maruti workers in Coimbatore

A Convention in support of Maruti workers was organized by AICCTU on July 14th 2013 at Coimbatore, marking a year since their incarceration in jail and continuing struggle. N Krishnamurthy, District President of AICCTU, presided over the Convention. NK Natarajan inaugurated the convention. Other speakers included Comrade V R Balasundaram, District President of INTUC, Comrade Arumugam, District General Secretary of CITU, Comrade Sivasamy, District Secretary, Mill Workers’ Union affiliated to AITUC, Comrade Subramanian, District President of HMS, Comrade Thiruvengadam, District President of LPF, Comrade Sundaram, President and Comrade Chandran, Treasurer of LMW workers and staff union. Comrade Kumarasamy, National President of AICCTU concluded the convention with his address. Hundreds of workers belonging to various industries attended.

The following resolutions were adopted at the convention signed by all participatory unions.

1) The Convention prevails upon the Haryana Government to take immediate action to get bail for the jailed workers.

2) Government should cancel the unfair labour practice of contract system of employment in Maruti.

3) The Convention unanimously declared its solidarity for the fighting workers of Maruthi.


This entry was posted in Automobile Industry, News, Workers Struggles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.